News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today
SUNDAY, MARCH 13, 2005

Cathy D. Wahl

Arrowhead Districts honors Henderson for 22 years as 'scouter'

Boy Scouts in Lawrence, Limestone and Morgan counties recently bid district executive John Henderson farewell.

After 22 years as a professional "scouter" (scout parlance for an adult Boy Scout), John resigned to enter private business in Encore Rehabilitation's marketing department.

John, a Morgan County native, earned his Eagle scout rank in Troop 157 in Elizabeth City, N.C., where his family moved when he was in eighth grade. He graduated from Northeast High School in Elizabeth City and Atlantic Christian College in Wilmington, N.C.

While working with the Order of the Arrow, he met several professional scouters. "I decided then to go into professional scouting as a way to give back to Boy Scouts," he said.

John served as district executive at various times in seven different counties. He's been a Cub Scout director for camp, a Boy Scout camp director and Order of the Arrow adviser.

He and wife Sarah are the parents of Sarah Beth, 12, and Katie, 8.

Arrowhead District honored John with a recent reception at Central United Methodist Church hosted by BSA Troop 260.

"We in the Arrowhead District will miss him greatly," said district commissioner Dennis Griffith. "He is the best DE we ever had."

Scouts and parents enjoyed a cracker barrel-style reception, with a cake and "bug juice" punch.

Paul Tatum will assume duties April 1 as Arrowhead's new district executive. A University of Georgia graduate, Paul is also an Eagle scout and is trained in Wood Badge. He has served as a district executive and senior district executive, as well as a camp director. Paul and wife Melissa are moving here from North Augusta, S.C.

Fashionably early

It's not too early to mark your calendar for the second annual spring luncheon and fashion show to benefit the Community Free Health Clinic.

Set for Thursday, April 14 at 11:30 a.m. at the Point Mallard Pavilion, Styles and Statements 2005 will feature avant-garde fashion and styles from Carriage House, Doncaster and DeLoain New York.

June Odom is chairing the show, which is just the thing to shake off the winter blahs and get you racing into a colorful spring. Katherine Wilks is arranging the menu for the alfresco lunch, while Annie Cornell is dreaming up extraordinary decorations. Susan Watson is crafting invitations. Sloane Bibb will make photos, and Mike Neville will engineer lights and sound. Crevolyn Burchel is readying reservations and Liz Pilgrim is publicizing.

Rotary times nine

Rotary Club of Decatur Daybreak celebrated nine years of community service with a gala annual dinner March 4 at Decatur Country Club.

President Margaret Marsh thanked this year's officers and board members: president-elect Mary Morgan; vice president Danny Kimbrough; secretary Sue Mitchell; treasurer Keith Wingard; sergeant-at-arms Gary Payne; and directors Ken Hayes, community service; Mike Moore, vocational service; Dick McEntire, international service; Susan Codding, club service; and Linda McKinney, membership development.

District Gov. Scott Stone recognized Bob Sparks as a Paul Harris Fellow for his support of the Rotary Foundation. The club surprised president Margaret by presenting her with a Paul Harris Fellow recognition. A Paul Harris Fellow recognition is presented when contributions totaling $1,000 are given to the Rotary Foundation.

Decatur Daybreak selected charter member Wingard as Daybreak Rotarian of the Year for his support of the club and its community activities.

Hurricane lamps, Jackson vine and Rotary wheel-shaped chocolates from Morgan-Price Candy decorated the tables in the international 2005 theme of "Celebrate Rotary." "Judge and the Jury" entertained Rotarians and guests. The band includes Lawrence County Circuit Judge Phillip Reich on guitar, Luke Slaton on bass, Marshall Lewey on banjo and Don Shelton on mandolin and guitar.

Jimmy Smith, Jerry Shumake, Mary Morgan and Sarah Stone furnished door prizes.

Susan Codding chaired the dinner, with Mary Morgan coordinating the menu, Beverly Crosswhite creating invitations and programs and Helen Sanderson assisted by Kelly Greer collecting door prizes.

Special guests included District Gov. Stone and wife Marguerite, District Gov.-elect Tom Milford and wife Margaret and Past District Gov. Pete Henderson.

John and Rita Abbott, Larry and Donna Ayers, Tim and Jenny Bachmann and Mary K. Braddock enjoyed the evening's festivities, along with Henry and Mary Bragg, Kelly Greer and Denny Smith, Ken and Kelly Hayes, Michelle and Clayton Jordan, Danny and Lynn Kimbrough, Jim and Julia Lamont, Dick and Jill McEntire, David and Gayle Metcalf, Mike and Hazel Moore, Mary and Henry Morgan, George Pollitt, Kim and Richard Ramey, Sandy Sherman, Ronnie and Lorraine Smallwood, Jimmy and Barbara Smith, Bob and Carolyn Sparks, Richard and Katie Thompson, Lee and Rachel Vought, Keith and Joyce Wingard and Darrel and Carrie Waites.

Call your "Chatterbox" news to Cathy D. Wahl at 350-6983 or mail to 1225 Regency Blvd. S.E., Decatur, AL 35601. Fax to 350-6983 or e-mail to

Cathy D. Wahl Cathy D. Wahl
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or