News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today
SUNDAY, JUNE 12, 2005

Mary Lott

Decatur musicians on Nashville station WLAC

75 Years Ago

June 9-13, 1930

Decatur's radio fans will tune in on station WLAC in Nashville at 8 p.m. Wednesday when a full hour "Decatur Booster" program will be broadcast.

Some of the city's most accomplished musicians and artists will participate and it is believed that radios throughout this section of the state will be tuned to hear what "North Alabama has to say."

Members of the Decatur Police Department, who recently acquired two new automobiles for use in patrolling their beats, are proud of them as a boy with a bright new wagon. They keep these machines bright and polished at all times and everything is done to keep them as nearly perfect as possible, from a mechanical standpoint.

Rising Sun and Albany Lodge, A.F. and A.M. have selected officials for the ensuing year. Officers of Rising Sun Lodge No. 29 are: Julian H. Blackwell, worshipful master; B.R. Ross, senior warden; R.M. Sibley, junior warden; L.S. Robinson, secretary; J.C. Holesapple, treasurer; W.H. Kilgore, senior deacon; G.E. Tankersley, junior deacon; G.W. Lawhorn, tyler; and W.H. Wise, trustee.

Albany Lodge No. 491 officials are Elbert Speer, worshipful master; J.O. Colvard, senior warden; W.B. McAgee, junior warden; C.E. Sittason, secretary; W.H. Carter, treasurer; Sam Rogers, senior deacon; J.H. Green, junior deacon; A.C. McKnight, tyler; and J. L. Draper, trustee.

The distinction of being one of 51 counties to be represented in the first student honor roll at Alabama College for the third quarter of the year just ended was won for Morgan County by Frances Dinsmore, Annie Louise Maulsby, Claudia Thombs and Katherine Weaver, all of Decatur, and Lucy McCormack of Falkville.

50 Years Ago

June 7-11, 1955

John Sewell received the VFW Post 4190's Outstanding Decatur Senior Athlete trophy for 1955. The selection each year is made by coaches. Sewell's name will be added to a huge trophy given by the local VFW post and containing the names of recipients of the award in past years.

Pupils of Patsy Byars will be presented in a dance revue at Decatur High School auditorium. Tap, toe, ballet and dance specialties will be featured. Wanda Jean Thrasher, Betty Bowling and Cathy Claburn are three of the pupils to be presented.

Members of one of the Sunday school classes of the First Methodist Church toured THE DECATUR DAILY in preparation for the editing of the Sunday school paper. The group learned of various duties of the departments and viewed the staff in action. Members of the group were Hazel Hodgins, Jeanette Giles, Elaine Avery, Julian Harris, Norman Harris, Larry Durman, George Screws, Kenneth Damsgard, Sammy Wright, Mrs. John Reynolds, Mrs. LeRoy McEntire Jr., Joe Jones and Lee Neville.

A pink sequin-trimmed pumpkin drawn by foot-high pink mice outlined in silver
glitter emphasized the Pink Cinderella Ball of the Sub Debs on Tuesday evening at Decatur Country Club.

Official chaperones for the dance were Mrs. J.W. Wyker Jr., club sponsor; J.W. Wyker and Mrs. Tom Whitman. Those who graduated and thus become honorary members who were present were Mary Ann Russell, Jonalyn Keihl, Sandra Neher, Marguerite Livingston, Mona Ray Kelley and Gerry Sivley. Neher is out-going president and incoming president is Jan Warren.

Goodyear Decatur Mills has been awarded a special treasury citation because 98.8 percent of the plant's employees are systematic saving bonds buyers.

25 Years Ago

June 3-8, 1980

Eight members of the Brownie Troop 511 from Cotaco spent Saturday digging and planting to make the medical clinic's grounds more attractive. Morgan County Health Council Chairwoman Shirley Cook said the trees, bedding plants, peat moss and split rails for the fence were donated by B&G Nursery in Neel, Decatur Nursery Sales, Dugle Johnson Nursery Sales in Decatur, the Decatur Garden Center and Amalgamaize.

Daisy Sheffey, who turned 95 Monday, received a greeting card from President and Mrs. Carter.

Sheffey, of Decatur, was born in Hillsboro but has lived in Decatur almost all her life. Her daughter, Cynthia Sheffey Jefferson, said she has no idea how her mother came to receive the greeting from Carter.

Former Morgan County Sheriff's Department Chief Deputy Ronnie Henson and former Morgan Investigator Harry Perry have been given mounted badges and inscribed plates recognizing their almost 20 years of combined experience in Morgan County law enforcement.

Henson is now a TVA safety officer trainee stationed at Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant and Perry is colonel with the state security force at the Lurleen B. Wallace Development Center.

Established by a Decatur druggist more than 10 years ago, the Fred H. Shores Scholarship Fund will help 27 young people from the Decatur area attend college in the fall.

Recipients for the 1980-81 school year were announced by the Central Bank of Alabama trust department, which administers the fund set up by Fred Shores.

Shores learned his profession from the brothers who owned Dillehay Drug Store at Sixth Avenue and Grant Street S.E. When he died, he left a scholarship trust fund at about $200,000.

Investments from the fund provided 25 scholarships of $400 each and two scholarships of $500 each for 27 area college students.

Receiving the $500 scholarships are Leslie Murphy and Jacquelyn Atkins, both of Decatur and both attending Auburn University.

Students who have completed this year's course in practical nursing at Calhoun Community College are Joyce Cale, Betty Boucher, Tina Hertz, Alina Payne, Jacqueline Morrow, Juanita Roberts, Kimberly King, Galer Kelly, Cassandra Tabscott and Lula Barnes. These students affiliated with Decatur General Hospital for clinical experience and after passing the state board examination will become licensed practical nurses.

Lee Ann Lofty of Decatur received the James M. Sizemore Award for the student public service during commencement at Samford University.

Six women took top honors in the recent Pointe Mallard-Burningtree member-guest doubles tennis tournament.

They are Beth Lacy, sponsor; Karen Compton, division A women's winner; Judy Reed, division A mixed winner; Billie Curry, division A women's winner; Paulette Beckham, championship division women's winner; and Peggy Busby, championship division women's winner.

10 Years Ago

June 7-11, 1995

Some people seeking matrimony run off to the courthouse. Morgan County Circuit Judge Steve Haddock and his wife, Penny, however, ran off from the courthouse. Mrs. Haddock arranged this surprise for the couple's 20th anniversary. They rode to First United Methodist Church and renewed their vows before attending a reception at Johnson Street Café.

Diana Johnson, 43, is recipient of the Outstanding Early Childhood Education graduate award at Athens State College, given by the Tennessee Valley chapter of the National Association for the Education of Young Children.

Chuck Puckett of Decatur will star in Huntsville Little Theatre's "Light Up the Sky." He plays Sidney Black.

Laurie Anders of Hartselle has been inducted into the National College Honor Society, Alpha Chi, at the University of South Alabama.

Emily Comer of Decatur has been named an honor student at Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio.

Thomas J. Huckaby of Somerville has been presented the U.S. Army Recruiting Command's Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps Award for outstanding academic achievement, leadership and contributions to his JROTC program at Brewer High School.

Gordon-Bibb Elementary School students Hillary Norman, Katie Barker and Jessica Clemons show their award-winning posters in the "Dog is man's best friend because . . . " poster contest sponsored locally by the Shetland Sheepdog Club of North Alabama and nationally by the American Kennel Club.

— Compiled by Mary Lott

Mary Lott Mary Lott
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or