News from the Tennessee Valley Sports

State’s Mr. Football/Player of Year nominations named

BIRMINGHAM — Twenty-one linemen and 21 backs have been selected by the Alabama Sports Writers Association as finalists for the 2005 Mr. Football Award to be presented Dec. 13 at the annual Mr. Football/Player of the Year luncheon.

The luncheon will be held at Birmingham-Southern College.

Among the finalists is Huffman senior offensive tackle Andre Smith, considered by most recruiting analysts as the top lineman prospect in the nation in this season's crop of seniors. Smith is one of three players selected as a Class 6A lineman of the year finalist. He is joined by three-year starting tackle Bryan Morgan of Hoover and defensive lineman Regionald Stokes of Carver-Montgomery.

Also among the finalists is the state's all-time single-season passing yardage and single season and career TD pass leader quarterback Chris Smelley of American Christian and the state's career pass receiving leader Terrell Zachery of Wadley. Both are also finalists for Class 1A back-of-the-year.

A committee of 17 writers from across Alabama selected the 42 finalists, three backs and three linemen in each of the AHSAA's six classifications and the AISA from a list of 108 nominations. Players were nominated by their coaches and/or ASWA member writers.

In Class 5A, state champion Homewood has two finalists, quarterback Austin Hubbard and offensive lineman David Ross. Joining Hoover's Morgan as a finalist in Class 6A is Bucs wide receiver Cornelius Williams.

And in the AISA, Bessemer Academy junior running back Walter Arrington and senior linebacker Justin Dunn were chosen finalists — along with Southern Academy's Wallace Drury, who set an AISA and overall state rushing record (3,183 yards) and scoring record (54 touchdowns) this season.

No player from Morgan, Limestone or Lawrence county was selected.

The players were selected at a special meeting held at Legion Field on Friday morning and the winners will be announced at the banquet. A complete list of the finalists include:

Alabama Sports
Writers Association

Mr. Football Finalists

Class 6A BACKS: Arnil Stallworth, Daphne, RB, Sr.; Cornelius Williams, Hoover, WR, Sr.; Deon Williams, Tuscaloosa Co., QB, Sr. LINEMEN: Dryan Morgan, Hoover, OL, Sr.; Andre Smith, Huffman, OL, Sr.; Reginald Stokes, Carver-Montgomery, DL, Sr.

Class 5A BACKS: Jeremy Helms, Russellville, QB, Sr.; Austin Hubbard, Homewood, QB, Sr.; Darian Stewart, Lee-Huntsville, DB/WR, Sr. LINEMEN: Daniel Orr, Eufaula, DE, Sr.; Rodney Hudson, B.C. Rain, OT/DT, Sr.; David Ross, Homewood, OL, Sr.

Class 4A BACKS: Chris Evans, Alexandria, RB, Sr.; Chad Mickens, St. Clair Co., RB, Sr.; Dontrell Miller, Demopolis, QB/DB, Sr. LINEMEN: Heath Batchelor, Haleyville, OL, Sr.; Preston Dial, UMS-Wright, TE, Sr.; Bart Eddins, Trinity, DL, Sr.

Class 3A BACKS: Damion Chambers, Cherokee Co., WR/DB, Sr.; James Jackson, Pike County, RB, Jr.; Anthony Mostella, Oneonta, RB, Sr. LINEMEN: Jermarcus Ricks, Colbert Co., TE/DL, Sr.; Brad Weaver, Cherokee Co. ; OL/DE, Sr.; Joe Willie Whited, Oneonta, OL, Sr.

Class 2A BACKS: John Pascley, Southern Choctaw, RB, Sr.; Josh Reed, Leroy, WR, Sr.; Domini Rich, Houston Academy, RB, Sr. LINEMEN: Brandon Anderson, Southern Choctaw, OT/DE, Sr.; Davis Flowers, Houston Academy, LB, Jr.; Bryan Lankford, Leroy, OT, Jr.

Class 1A BACKS: Jeremy Bryant, Cedar Bluff, RB, Sr.; Chris Smelley, American Christian, QB, Sr.; Terrell Zachery, Wadley, WR, Sr. LINEMEN: Jeffery Daniels, Brantley, Jr., LB/DE; Austin Hayes, Cedar Bluff, OT/DE, Jr.; Brian Motley, Autaugaville, OT/DT, Sr.

AISA BACKS: Walter Arrington, Bessemer Academy, RB, Jr.; Wallace Drury, Southern Academy, RB, Jr.; Philip Moore, Edgewood Academy, QB, Sr. LINEMEN: Justin Dunn, Bessemer Academy, LB, Sr.; Andrew Slagel, Morgan Academy, OL/DL, Sr.; Jake Turner, Clarke Prep, TE/LB, Sr.

Subscribe for only 33¢ a day!

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page